The MTD Board is made up of seven directors. Two are appointed by the County Board of Supervisors, two are appointed by the Santa Barbara City Council, one is appointed by the Goleta City Council, and one is appointed by the Carpinteria City Council. The seventh member, also known as the at-large director, is appointed by the other six members of the board.
Currently the seven serving directors have a combined wealth of transit experience which has proven to be a great benefit to MTD and the community of Santa Barbara.